Kelvin Ng'ang'a

Home » Food for Soul » Envying the Child I was.

Envying the Child I was.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39,697 other followers

How many viewed

  • 14,811 VISITORS

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 39,697 other followers

View the site using your own language

About the author

Kelvin Ng'ang'a

Kelvin Ng'ang'a

~Currently Kelvin Ng'ang'a is Kenyan based blogger with Kenyan-Ish accent and has interest in trendy and techish stuffs. He is also a student at Kenyatta University pursuing a bachelor of science-Forensic Science. You are warmly welcomed to read his blogs. Comments, opinion and criticisms are highly welcomed. Get an Easy Start,feel at ease! Know what you never saw and see what you never saw! My blogs, My space It's how I choose to tell it!

View Full Profile →

Follow me on Twitter

Follow Kelvin Ng'ang'a on WordPress.com

Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Timeline

May 2016
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

It’s a matter of you leading/following or getting out of the way ”. Ng’ang’a The Blogger

crawling baby @ngangathebloggerThere was a time I was and I used to be a weaning baby, yes a toothless child. Those were the days I was not fathoming what really goes on around the world. I did not know much about planet earth. I only had a vague glimpse of my mother and a few people who used to baby-seat me.

All that I experienced during that time was absolute irresistible love, everybody wanted to poke my face telling me, “Grow, grow child.”

Time drifted slowly, I gradually started having a handle on environment which I was in. The Kikuyu accent started to imbibe and not long I started pronouncing ‘green’ as ‘gleen . I could not tell what the difference between ‘L’ and ‘R’ was in terms of elocution, for in any case no one sees the picture while inside the frame. I later came to find that’s the real identity of Kikuyus you know Mount Kenya’s chaps.

Time to get schooled came, I entered class enthusiastic and zealous but worst of it , I didn’t know why I was in school. Maybe age dictated?  Or my parents forced me. Time went on and a little while I started realizing that being in school makes one a doctor, a lawyer, an engineer and less than that was an abomination. So I started singing, “ when I grow up I would like to be a doctor!” Not because I had the doctor genes in my veins but because the atmosphere by then dictated so. As a child I was never conscientious of my life. I cared less. I didn’t have to worry so much about myself, someone else was. My mother was at the forefront in ensuring that I was as much comfortable as possible.

I was innocent : Very innocuous indeed. Ask Jesus, if his second coming was during my childhood era, I could have gotten an uninterrupted entry to the so-said glory and paradise of heaven .

                                  PEOPLE ALSO READ : Its Only When you are Humble

But today things have changed, taken a rather  new course. I would say that, today am held responsible of my actions and moves. . Today am required to set my own principles and guidelines to adhere to. Am always planning and laying strategies ahead of time on how to make my life a success .Things that I never I did as a youngster. I have to say a strong NO to some things because I have already said YES to some other better ones.

Peoples’ pseudo –love has faded away . Nobody shows their love and compassion towards me. Others doing this deliberately because I have my own unique core values that I uphold and whoever doesn’t embrace them doessn’t become part of me. I apply jig-saw fit theory, if you do not fit then suit yourself. It’s a matter of you leading/following or getting out of the way. No wonder I have very few friends around me.

Let me strongly bear a witness that I envy infancy life by all means. A good feeling, when the entire society is minding about your well being among numerous other things. But who said I was to forever remain a child? I am now in realistic world where am compelled to face world on my own. A lone ranger. I have to hold fort of my life, liking it as it is and fighting very hard to change where I can.

When all is gone and seems like nothing is what it used to be, God almighty’s  love and care remains unchanged . He guides us only when we accept to be in him.

 




Whereas all efforts have been made to end up with this blog published  errors and omissions in whatsoever form ,are subject,do not  hesitate to contact the author.

Tel:(+254)0720501513

Email:njokikelvin@yahoo.com

The author doesn’t own some of the images contained herein;they exclusively belong to the copyrighted owners.

Previous article                                                               Next article

 ««                                                                                     » »

8 Comments

  1. cyrus says:

    an inspiring article bro

    Like

  2. Eugene Musakhi says:

    Good work brother. Responsible for our actions we are. Keep doing your best.

    Like

  3. Vic says:

    awesome stuff big bro.i look forward working with you on similar field

    Like

  4. danny says:

    Good work and well done,,,,keep it in motion bro…..you have it,,,we are getting it en be asured tyz doiñg well wth our minds en hrts…..i love it to hrt….

    Like

  5. sam says:

    always inspirational,,keep it awesome as always

    Like

  6. meshmartins says:

    Good autobiographical reflection there brother.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Chacha says:

    Very real and inspiring… So True.. Have wished to be a child sometimes,when reality checks in unpleasantly .

    Like

What would you have to say?

